Menu & Search
Vegetarians vs Vegan – Definition 2020

Vegetarians vs Vegan – Definition 2020

Vegetarians vs Vegan

Vegetarians vs Vegan

Many people use the terms “vegetarian” and “vegan” interchangeably. However, both are different in many aspects. The primary difference between veganism and vegetarianism is that the former is much stricter in the selection of food items. 

For example, vegans eliminate meat, honey, eggs, dairy, and animal-derived products, including silk and leather. On the other hand, vegetarians are not as strict as vegans because they only eliminate the consumption or usage of meat and related products. 

In today’s article, we will focus on explaining the difference between vegetarianism and veganism. 

 

The Difference Between Vegetarian and Vegan 

When it comes to the difference between vegetarians and vegans and their diets, vegans do not eat animal products. In contrast, vegetarians do not eat animals but consume items that come from them, such as eggs and dairy. Typically, people choose such diets due to religious restrictions, health concerns, and avoid harming animals on a moral basis.

 

Let’s talk about vegetarian vs vegan definition and their core concepts. 

 

Vegetarianism – core concept 

As mentioned above, vegetarians do not eat animals but may consume products that come from them. There are different types of vegetarians, such as Lacto-Ovo, Lacto, and ovo.

The first (Lacto-Ovo) one is the most common form of vegetarianism that focuses on eating a diet that includes eggs and dairy. However, Lacto-ovo vegetarians do not eat meat, seafood, or chicken. 

The second one “Lacto” vegetarians do not eat seafood, poultry, meat, and eggs. However, they use milk, yogurt, and other dairy products.

Ovo vegetarians, on the other hand, eat eggs but no meat, poultry, seafood, or dairy products. 

Some people who eat fish and seafood are known as Pesco vegetarians or pescatarians. However, these people don’t meet the general definition of vegetarianism. 

 

Veganism – core concept 

Vegans are concerned about animals and focus on their welfare. Not only do they avoid eating animals and animal-derived products, but they also tend to avoid wearing suede and leather because these items come from animal skins. 

Similarly, vegans are also passionate about avoiding any fabric manufactured from animal byproducts, such as silk and wool. The primary reason is that manufacturing companies often harm animals in the process of producing these materials. So much so, many vegans look for cruelty-free beauty and cosmetic products. 

 

Type of Foods they avoid 

Many people don’t realize that most animal-free food items contain small amounts of animal products. 

For example, candies and non-fat yogurt can contain gelatin that usually comes from animals, and a recent report shows that some orange juice brands in the U.S include omega-3 fatty acid as an ingredient. 

While vegetarians consume honey, vegans avoid it. Almost all chocolate brands include milk, however, a few chocolate brands offer products for vegans, but they are rarely available in local stores. 

 

Vegan Vs Veggie

Concept/PhilosophyRules 
VegansAvoid all types of animals and animal-derived products, including food, clothes, footwear, anything. 
Lacto-ovo vegetariansUse all types of animal products except for meat. 
Lacto vegetariansUse all types of animal products except for eggs, meat, and poultry. 
Ovo vegetariansUse all types of animal products except for meat, dairy, poultry, and seafood. 
Pesco vegetarians They are also known as partial or semi-vegetarians, which means they eat meat and use animal products occasionally

 

Vegans Vs Vegetarians

In conclusion, unlike vegans, vegetarians are not strict about animal-derived products. Veganism, on the other hand, is a philosophy, a movement that emphasizes a cruelty-free world and base it on plant-based products.  

 

Next article: Is Anastasia Beverly Hills Vegan?