Menu & Search
Is Bread Vegan? Is Pita Bread, Sourdough, & Ezekiel Bread Vegan? 2020

Is Bread Vegan? Is Pita Bread, Sourdough, & Ezekiel Bread Vegan? 2020

Is Bread Vegan?

Is Bread Vegan?

Generally, bread contains flour, salt, yeast, and water, which means it is vegan. Some bread contains ingredients like fats and sweeteners that come from an animal origin. For example, some bread recipes use butter, milk, and eggs to modify the texture and flavor. Considering this, we can say that not all types of bread are vegan. 

 

What Is Vegan Bread? 

Different varieties of bread, such as rolls, bagels, sandwich bread, pita, sourdough, tortillas, and focaccia, are vegan bread. It is a grain-based food item and contains plant-based ingredients. 

You can easily differentiate between vegan and non-vegan bread by checking their ingredients’ list. Dairy-based ingredients along with gelatin, whey, casein, royal jelly, honey, and eggs make the bread non-vegan. Some ingredients like mono-glycerides, diglycerides, and lecithin are either considered vegan or non-vegan. 

 

Common Types of Vegan Bread 

Various types of bread are naturally free from animal-based ingredients. These are: 

Pita: It contains pure ingredients, such as flour, yeast, salt, and water. Pita is a 100% vegan bread in its original form. However, some people add honey, eggs, and milk to modify its flavor. In that case, pita does not remain a vegan bread. 

Ezekiel: It is a bread made from legumes and sprouted whole grains. Ezekiel is one of the most popular types of bread and a rich source of essential nutrients like proteins, vitamins, and antioxidants. 

Sourdough: It is a type of bread obtained via the fermentation process. Sourdough contains flour, salt, and water, which means it is 100% vegan. On the other hand, some people use milk instead of water to make it non-vegan. 

Focaccia: As the name indicates, it is an Italian flatbread topped with fat and herbs. Most chefs use olive oil as a source of fat that makes it a vegan bread. Some people even use eggs and butter instead of oil olive, and in that case, it becomes a non-vegan bread. 

 

Best Vegan Bread Brands 

There are hundreds of vegan bread brands available on the market. However, not all of them are 100% vegan and contain plant-based ingredients. Some of the best brands are:

 

Arnold Oatnut Bread

Arnold Oatnut Bread is baked with grains, which makes a simple choice to support your healthy and balanced eating regimen. Most of the brand’s products do not contain artificial preservatives, flavors, and colors. 

There is no high fructose corn syrup in Arnold Oatnut Bread. The bread contains wheat flour, water, oats, brown sugar, and yeast, as well as a rich source of vitamin B1, B2, folic acid, citric acid, and iron. 

 

Bloomfield Farms Bread 

Bloomfield Farms Bread is 100% vegan and contains plant-based ingredients. It is gluten-free, preservative-free with no artificial flavors and colors. The bread is free from allergens like fish, milk, eggs, peanuts, tree nuts, soybean, wheat, and shellfish. It is a great treat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. 

 

La Brea Bakery’s French Baguette

La Brea Bakery is famous for crafting vegan bread with pure plant-based ingredients. It contains basic things like flour, salt, water, and yeast, as well as free from gluten and artificial preservatives. The taste of the French Baguette is delicious, and you can eat it at breakfast or the evening with your favorite toppings. 

 

Angel’s Bakery Classic White Pita

As mentioned earlier, the pita bread is one of the best when it comes to plant-based ingredients. Angel’s Bakery has been making white pita pillows for years and is a famous bread brand around the world. The classic white pita is a flatbread that contains a mixture of flour, water, salt, and yeast. There are no artificial flavors and colors. 

 

Next article: Is Pasta Vegan?

 

PIN IT FOR LATER!

Sharing on social media helps spread the word!